Lorraine Hwang ljhwang at ucdavis.edu
Fri Jul 10 14:42:31 PDT 2015

We are pleased to announce the release of SPECFEM3D_GLOBE version 7.0.0:

The version 7.0 release offers GPU graphics card support for both OpenCL and CUDA hardware accelerators, based on an automatic source-to-source transformation library (Videau et al. 2013). It offers additional support for ADIOS file I/O formats and contains important bug fixes related to 3D topography and geographic/geocentric transformations. Seismogram file names adapt a new naming convention, with better compatibility to the seismogram specifications by the Incorporated Research Institutions for Seismology (IRIS).

New in SPECFEM3D_GLOBE 7.0.0:
- supports CUDA and OpenCL GPU accelerators
- ADIOS file I/O support
- ASDF seismograms
- simultaneous MPI runs
- tomography tools
- Comprehensive Earth Model (CEM) model support
- git versioning system (here on github) to support user contributions
- enhanced performance in both mesher and solver

- new seismogram name formats (changes from **station**.**network**.. to **network**.**station**.. following IRIS convention)
- uses binary topography files
- updates ellipticity and gravity factors
- updates AK135 model
- bug fixes geocentric/geographic conversions

We encourage all users to update to this newest release.

You can obtain the source code and latest user manual
through the CIG website at:
https://geodynamics.org/cig/software/specfem3d_globe/ <https://geodynamics.org/cig/software/specfem3d_globe/>

Please e-mail your feedback, questions, comments, suggestions, and bug
reports to the CIG Computational Seismology mailing list (cig-seismo
at geodynamics.org <http://geodynamics.org/>). Also, issues with the source code package can be reported directly on github:
https://github.com/geodynamics/specfem3d_globe <https://github.com/geodynamics/specfem3d_globe>

the SPECFEM development team 
Michael Afanasiev, Ebru Bozda˘g, Joseph Charles, Min Chen, Dominik Göddeke, Vala Hjörleifsdóttir, Sue Kientz, Dimitri Komatitsch,
Jesús Labarta, Nicolas Le Goff, Pieyre Le Loher, Qinya Liu, Yang Luo, Alessia Maggi, Roland Martin, Dennis
McRitchie, Matthias Meschede, Peter Messmer, David Michéa, Tarje Nissen-Meyer, Daniel Peter, Kevin Pouget, Max
Rietmann, Elliott Sales de Andrade, Brian Savage, Bernhard Schuberth, Anne Sieminski, Leif Strand, Carl Tape,
Jeroen Tromp, Brice Videau, Jean-Pierre Vilotte, Zhinan Xie, Hejun Zhu.
July 10, 2015


Lorraine Hwang, PhD
Associate Director, CIG
Out of Office: August 7- September 4

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.geodynamics.org/pipermail/cig-seismo/attachments/20150710/62a3c6a5/attachment.html>

More information about the CIG-SEISMO mailing list